UPDATE: The Investigations Continue

Written by Eden H. Roquelaire for Twin Peaks Freaks.

Hello to all my readers! I’m sure you have noticed the lack of activity from this blog lately. I just want to say, never fear! I have not lost my passion for decoding the Lynchian Mysteries, it is only that various personal changes have deflected my attentions for the last few months. However, I promise you all that I will return soon with plenty of intriguing new material, including an epic analysis of the strange and wonderful Inland Empire (my personal favorite David Lynch film).

In the meantime, I’ll tell you a bit about my trip to San Diego Comic Con. While the event lacked any Twin Peaks panel or preview, the Showtime booth boasted a large banner of the “Welcome to Twin Peaks” sign, and some Showtime representatives were handing out buttons reading “Twin Peaks 2017.” When I talked to the reps, they told me that they weren’t able to say much about the series. They reiterated the casting news, and that there would be 18 episodes, all directed by David Lynch. They also expressed their hopes that David Lynch and Mark Frost would sign a deal with Showtime allowing for the production of Twin Peaks action figures and other official memorabilia. All in all, it seems that Showtime is very excited about their future collaborations with Lynch and Frost.

13754375_1713401912246626_2463718046903988374_n

Picture I took of the Welcome to Twin Peaks banner on the side of the Showtime booth.

20160807_144848

One of the buttons being handed out by Showtime at #SDCC

Meanwhile, Ray Wise made an appearance at the panel for the new Batman animated film, The Killing Joke, which has Wise voicing iconic gumshoe and ally to the Dark Knight, Commissioner Jim Gordon. During the panel, Ray Wise revealed that the new season of Twin Peaks would be 18 episodes long, and he would be in all of them. He also confirmed that all 18 episodes would be directed by David Lynch, and gave us an approximate release date of Summer 2017.

maxresdefault

Also setting the fan community all abuzz is the release of a trailer for Mark Frost’s novel, The Secret History of Twin Peaks, which was said to bridge the gap between Season 2 and the new season. However, the trailer implies that the book will do much more than that, as it looks to fill in details from the in-world history of the town. But, those are details for another article. For now, take a look at the trailer below.

My takeaway from all of this? The future is looking bright for Twin Peaks.

I’ll be back soon with new articles to get your inner detectives working. Until then, I’ll see you in the trees.

Leave a Reply

